2017 RUSA Reading List and March Bestsellers

2017 RUSA Reading List

Jump to the March Bestsellers 

The Reading List Council has announced the 2017 selections for the Reading List, an annual best-of list for adult readers. Announced during the American Library Association’s Midwinter Meeting, the list seeks to highlight outstanding genre fiction. We are excited to have many of the titles that were announced and we know your readers will enjoy all of these great reads. Titles we’ve published include:

Adrenaline Winner and Short List Nominee 
**Winner — ORPHAN X by Gregg Hurwitz
9781410486370
The Nowhere Man is a legendary figure spoken about only in whispers. It’s said that when he’s reached by the truly desperate and deserving, the Nowhere Man can and will do anything to protect and save them. Booklist’s starred review called it “a high-tech, nonstop thriller . . . A standout,” while Publishers Weekly’s starred review called it “an excellent series opener.” This Indie Next Pick if perfect for fans of Jack Reacher, Mitch Rapp, and Jason Bourne. (Basic 6 — 2/3/2016)


*Short List — DAISY IN CHAINS
by Sharon Bolton
9781410493613
He’s a serial killer. A murderer of young women, all killed in brutal attacks. But despite Hamish Wolfe’s conviction, he’s always stuck to his story — he’s innocent and he’s been wrongly imprisoned. And now he wants someone to investigate and, more importantly, to write his story. Enter Maggie Rose, a notorious defense attorney, and writer whose specialty is getting convictions overturned. In their starred review, Kirkus Reviews said: “No detail should be missed, no nuance overlooked in Bolton’s chilling tale of a master manipulator who leaves nothing to chance.” This LibraryReads Pick is perfect for fans of Lisa Gardner and Karin Slaughter. (Core 8 — 12/7/2016)

Historical Fiction  Short List Nominees
*Short List — NEWS OF THE WORLD
by Paulette Jiles
9781410489531
In the aftermath of the Civil War, an aging itinerant news reader agrees to transport a young captive of the Kiowa back to her people in this exquisitely rendered, morally complex, multilayered novel of historical fiction that explores the boundaries of family, responsibility, honor, and trust. This stunning historical fiction title was a National Book Award nominee, #1 LibraryReads Pick and an Indie Next Pick. Received two starred reviews, Kirkus Reviews called “lyrical and affecting.” Library Journal said: “This Western is not to be missed by Jiles’s fans and lovers of Texan historical fiction.” One of our top sellers this year, we cannot keep this in stock! (Western — 12/21/2016)

*Short List — TO THE BRIGHT EDGE OF THE WORLD
by Eowyn Ivey
9781410492760
In the winter of 1885, decorated war hero Colonel Allen Forrester leads a small band of men on an expedition that has been deemed impossible: to venture up the Wolverine River and pierce the vast, untamed Alaska Territory. Leaving behind Sophie, his newly pregnant wife, Colonel Forrester records his extraordinary experiences in hopes that his journal will reach her if he doesn’t return — once he passes beyond the edge of the known world, there’s no telling what awaits him. Received three starred reviews. Publishers Weekly called it “a splendid adventure novel.” Booklist called it “a compelling historical saga of survival.” For readers of historical adventures. (Basic — 8/3/2016)

Mystery Winner and Short List Nominees
**Winner — DARKTOWN
by Thomas Mullen
9781410493774
Set in 1948 Atlanta, this novel tells the story of the first black police officers and the trials they are forced to endure. A fascinating police procedural that could be set in 2016, it explores the unbalanced scales of justice in the pre-civil rights South and tells the story of a friendship that was unique for the times. Received two starred reviews; Publishers Weekly called it “an unflinching look at racism in post-WWII Atlanta . . . a page turner.” Library Journal said: “Fans of well written literary thrillers will want this expert example.” A LibraryReads, Indie Next, and Okra Pick, this is perfect for fans of James Ellroy and Dennis Lehane. (Wheeler Hardcover — 10/5/2016)

*Short List — ANGELS BURNING
by Tawni O’Dell
9781410487957
This fast-paced literary thriller is about a small town police chief who’s forced to dig into her own shadowy past as she investigates the murder of a teenage girl. The past and present collide to reveal the extent some will go to escape their fate, and in turn, the crimes committed to push them back to where they began. Received two starred reviews. Library Journal called it a “compelling, fast-paced mystery.” Publishers Weekly called it an “emotionally charged novel.” For fans of Julia Keller. (Thriller — 3/16/2016)

IQ
by Joe Ide
9781410499226
East Long Beach. The LAPD is barely keeping up with the neighborhood’s high crime rate. Murders go unsolved, lost children unrecovered. But someone from the neighborhood has taken it upon himself to help solve the cases the police can’t or won’t touch. They call him IQ. Booklist’s starred review called this Indie Next Pick “an entertaining blend of coming of- age saga, old-school detective story, and comic-caper novel . . . This is one of those rare debuts that leaves us panting for more — and soon.” (Peer Picks — 4/19/2017)

Women’s Fiction Short List Nominees

*Short List — THE ASSISTANTS
by Camille Perri
9781410491299
Tina Fontana is a 30-year-old executive assistant to the CEO of a multinational media conglomerate. She’s excellent at her job and beloved by her famous boss — but after six years of making reservations and pouring drinks from bottles that cost more than her rent, the glamor of working for a media company in New York has completely faded, and her student loan debt has not. When a technical error with her boss’s expense report presents Tina with the opportunity to pay off the entire balance of her loans with what would essentially be pocket change for her boss, she hesitates. She’s always played by the rules, but it’s such a relatively small amount of money for the corporation — and for her it would be a life-changer. As Tina begins to fall down the rabbit hole of her morally-questionable plan, other assistants with crushing debt and fewer scruples approach her to say that they want in. Before she knows it, she’s at the forefront of a movement that has implications far beyond what anyone anticipated. Booklist’s starred review called it “a winner,” while Publishers Weekly called it “a smart and fresh novel.” For fans of contemporary women’s fiction. (Women’s Fiction — 7/20/2016)

THE CITY BAKER’S GUIDE TO COUNTRY LIVING
by Louise Miller
9781410492722
Desserts, Vermont, burning down your work place, a big dog, and romance. What more could readers want in a book? A great story about creating a new life with the hand you are dealt. Miller brings Guthrie, Vermont to life with quirky characters and beautiful descriptions of life in a rural setting. Booklist said: “Offer this to romance readers as well as folks who don’t think they read romance.” Library Journal said: “Mix in one part Diane Mott-Davidson’s delightful culinary adventures with several tablespoons of Jan Karon’s country living and quirky characters, bake at 350 degrees for one rich and warm romance. Fans of Jeanne Ray and Judith Ryan Hendricks will enjoy this lighthearted love story that’s as homey as a slice of prized crumb apple pie.” (Core 6 — 11/2/2016)

Give your patrons the books they will be asking for…the March 2017 Bestsellers

March is a time of exciting new reads. Our New York Times bestsellers and bestselling authors in March are all the books your patrons want. Bestselling titles include:

To learn more about Thorndike Press or to place an order for any of these titles on the Rusa Reading List or our Bestseller List visit gale.com/thorndike or contact your Thorndike Press representative.

 

Leave a Comment