April 2017 Read-alikes and Bestsellers

| By Elyse Monahan |

April Read-alikes

Your patrons have their favorite authors and genres that they know and love. Below is a list of titles debuting in April inspired by those favorites!

Jump to the April Bestsellers 

If your readers like David Liss and Robert Harris, they might like:

The Ashes of London by Andrew Taylor (9781410498298). From the critically acclaimed author of The American Boy, The Scent of Death, and The Silent Boy comes a new historical thriller set during the Great Fire of London in 1666. James Marwood is the son of a disgraced printer and reluctant government informer. When a semi-mummified body is discovered in the ashes of St. Paul’s, Marwood is tasked with hunting down the killer. The Financial Times said: “The Ashes of London presents a breathtakingly ambitious picture of an era . . . The multiple narrative strands are drawn together in a brilliantly orchestrated finale.” (Mystery 3 — 4/5/2017)

If your readers like Sarah Addison Allen, Kate Morton, or Aimee Bender, they might like:

The Keeper of Lost Things by Ruth Hogan (9781410498809). This novel is delightfully original, filled with an unforgettable menagerie of characters, including irresistible four-legged friends. Booklist says: “Reeling after a recent divorce, Laura takes a job as the housekeeper and assistant of eccentric writer Anthony Peardew . . . After his sudden death, Laura is charged with the task of reuniting Anthony’s collection of lost items and their owners in hopes of mending just one broken heart.(Basic 7 Standing Order Plan— 4/5/2017)

If your readers like Alexandra Fuller, they might like:

Once We Were Sisters by Sheila Kohler (9781410498441). In this author’s first work of nonfiction, named one of People magazine’s best new books, Kohler details how she received news that her sister Maxine, was killed when her husband drove off a deserted road in Johannesburg. She travels home to grieve and find answers, reliving memories from a storybook childhood and describing a bond between sisters that changes but never breaks. A starred Kirkus review proclaims: “In spare, delicate prose, Kohler brings a seasoned novelist’s skills to this deeply moving, compelling memoir.” (Biography and Memoir — 4/5/2017)

If your readers like Jodi Picoult or Where’d You Go, Bernadette?, they might like:

I Liked My Life by Abby Fabiaschi (9781410498472). Maddy was a devoted mother and wife until the day she stepped off the roof of the Wellesley College Library to her death. Her heartbroken teenage daughter Eve, and husband Brady struggle with their loss. From somewhere beyond, Maddy watches over them and influences their present. A starred Library Journal review call this “Heartbreaking and heartwarming, hard-to-put-down . . . making it a perfect choice for book clubs.” “Warm and hopeful, this marvelous debut stands next to novels from Catherine McKenzie and Carolyn Parkhurst . . .” concludes a Booklist starred review. (Reviewers’ Choice — 4/5/2017)

If your readers like Robyn Carr and Susan Mallery, they might like:

Accidentally on Purpose by Jill Shalvis (9781410497130). New York Times and USA Today bestselling author Shalvis continues her popular Heartbreaker Bay series with this contemporary romance. “Apartment manager and accounting student Elle Wheaton and security expert and former cop Archer Hunt have a history . . . the attraction between them becomes irresistible . . . Sexy, touching, and often funny,” says Library Journal. A starred Publisher’s Weekly review says this is “the whole package — the glamorous big city locale, the appealing secondary characters, and that Shalvis magic with snappy dialogue.” (Romance 3 — 4/19/2017)

If your readers like Gilly MacMillan and Megan Abbott, they might like:

The Trophy Child by Paula Daly (9781410497963). Karen Bloom is not a coddling mother, she expects her husband and her children to perform at 200 percent — no matter the cost. Her family starts to rebel against her. When tragedy strikes, her carefully constructed facade begins to fall apart. A starred Library Journal review calls this “another gem . . . Thriller and suspense lovers will delight in this fast-paced novel with its twists and turns.” (Thriller — 4/19/2017)

Give your patrons the books they will be asking for…the April 2017 Bestsellers

The top books published this month are captivating librarians and their patrons across the country. With so many New York Times bestselling titles to choose from, here are many that are available in large print!

A DARKNESS ABSOLUTE by Kelley Armstrong (9781410498830) Wheeler Hardcover 4

ACCIDENTALLY ON PURPOSE by Jill Shalvis (9781410497130) Romance 3

AN IRISH COUNTRY COOKBOOK by Patrick Taylor (9781410498946) Lifestyles

BOUND TOGETHER by Christine Feehan(9781410496447) Romance

DROWNING TIDES by Karen Harper (9781410496508) Romance

EARTHLY REMAINS by Donna Leon (9781410497864) Mystery

FINDING GIDEON by Eric Jerome Dickey (9781410497710) African-American

HAVANA: A Subtropical Delirium by Mark Kurlansky (9781410499233) Popular and Narrative Nonfiction 3

HERO IN THE HIGHLANDS by Suzanne Enoch (9781410499158) Basic 8

NEVER TRUST A STRANGER by Mary Monroe (9781410497772) African-American 3

PEACE WITH GOD: The Secret of Happiness by Billy Graham (9781410498250) Inspirational

PRINCE CHARLES: The Passions and Paradoxes of an Improbable Life by Sally Bedell Smith (9781410498533) Biography and Memoir

THE BANKS SISTERS 3 by Nikki Turner (9781410497789) African-American 3

THE CASE AGAINST SUGAR by Gary Taubes (9781410498953) Lifestyles

THE EBB TIDE by Beverly Lewis (9781410497048) Christian Fiction

THE GENERAL’S WOMEN by Susan Wittig Albert (9781410499059) Core

THE LAST CHANCE OLIVE RANCH by Susan Wittig Albert (9781410496812) Mystery

THE ROAD TO JONESTOWN: Jim Jones and Peoples Temple by Jeff Guinn (9781410498656) Popular and Narrative Nonfiction

THE WOMAN ON THE STAIRS by Bernhard Schlink (9781410499066) Core 7

To learn more about Thorndike Press or to place an order for any of these titles visit gale.com/thorndike or contact your Thorndike Press representative. Don’t forget…shipping is always free!

 

Leave a Comment