Highlights of BookExpo

BookExpo Buzz Titles

We attended BookExpo last month at the Javits Center in New York. The largest annual trade book fair in the United States, BookExpo brings together publishers, booksellers, authors, and librarians. It’s an exciting place to be, with thousands of other book people and huge banners hanging from the rafters displaying upcoming buzz books. It was a great chance to meet publishers and some of our authors to learn about titles to watch for in the coming year ―  and hear from librarians about what their patrons of all ages are looking for, and how we can serve them better. Panels of authors and industry insiders discussed trends, upcoming titles and programming, and tried to predict the next big genre. Here is a list of some Book Expo buzz titles that we’re publishing in large print.

Read more

Summer Escapes!

Must-Reads for Vacationers Anytime of Year

These titles were featured in May’s Library Journal as must-reads if you are looking for “summer escapes.” Anyone planning vacation reads or just armchair getaways will want to check out our large print editions:

Read more

It’s All About Character and Greatness!

In the Spotlight!

AN EXTRAORDINARY UNION by Alyssa Cole (9781410497901).
The first in a new trilogy, The Loyal League, this Civil War era historical romance has received four starred reviews and is on many “Must Read” lists. “No one suspects that a mute slave girl on a Southern estate is really a spy working for the Loyalty League, a secret society of freed blacks and slaves funneling information to the Union. Her disguise was working perfectly until a handsome Confederate soldier with a Scottish brogue nearly ruins everything,” says a starred, Booklist review. A starred Library Journal proclaims: “Courageous, passionate protagonists fight for justice, freedom, and the right to love in an exceptional story that both educates and entertains and beautifully launches a unique series.” For readers who like Jennifer Chiaverini. (African-American — 5/17/2017)

Read more

April 2017 Read-alikes and Bestsellers

| By Elyse Monahan | April Read-alikes Your patrons have their favorite authors and genres that they know and love. Below is a list of titles debuting in April inspired by those favorites! Jump to the April Bestsellers  If your readers like David Liss and Robert Harris, they might like: The Ashes of London by … Read more

Goodreads Big Books of Spring 2017

Goodreads is the world’s largest site for readers and book recommendations. Their mission is to help people find and share books they love. They have 55 million members and there are over 50 million readers on their website. Their Spring list contains the top 25 books that readers are adding to their “Want to Read” shelves. We’ll be publishing the following of these buzz books in large print.

Read more

April 2017 Picks

| By Elyse Monahan |

April Editors’ Picks 

Jump to the Library Reads List 

Jump to the Indie Next List 

Hand-picked titles from our expert editorial team are here! At Thorndike Press, our editors have a knack for picking the next great reads. They have been doing so for over thirty years! Here is a list of April titles they know your patrons will enjoy.

Read more

2017 RUSA Reading List and March Bestsellers

2017 RUSA Reading List

Jump to the March Bestsellers 

The Reading List Council has announced the 2017 selections for the Reading List, an annual best-of list for adult readers. Announced during the American Library Association’s Midwinter Meeting, the list seeks to highlight outstanding genre fiction. We are excited to have many of the titles that were announced and we know your readers will enjoy all of these great reads. Titles we’ve published include:

Adrenaline Winner and Short List Nominee 
**Winner — ORPHAN X by Gregg Hurwitz
9781410486370
The Nowhere Man is a legendary figure spoken about only in whispers. It’s said that when he’s reached by the truly desperate and deserving, the Nowhere Man can and will do anything to protect and save them. Booklist’s starred review called it “a high-tech, nonstop thriller . . . A standout,” while Publishers Weekly’s starred review called it “an excellent series opener.” This Indie Next Pick if perfect for fans of Jack Reacher, Mitch Rapp, and Jason Bourne. (Basic 6 — 2/3/2016)

Read more

LibraryReads and Indie Next Picks: March 2017

LibraryReads Picks

Jump to Indie Next Picks 

LibraryReads publishes a list of the top books released every month that librarians across the country love. Thorndike Press honored to have many of these titles available in Large Print. Below is the full list of Large Print LibraryReads picks just for you and your patrons!

THE WANDERERS by Meg Howrey
9781432838263
Station Eleven meets The Martian in this brilliantly inventive literary novel about three astronauts auditioning for the first-ever mission to Mars, an experience that will push the boundary between real and unreal, test their relationships, and leave each of them — and their families — changed forever. This novel is fast-paced and sharp, with some unforgettable moments of tenderness. In their starred review, Kirkus called it “engrossing . . . Although the contours of a space drama may seem familiar to a 21stcentury readership, Howrey, through the poetry of her writing and the richness of her characters, makes it all seem new. A lyrical and subtle space opera.” For fans of Emily St. John Mandel and Andy Weir. (Core 6 — 5/3/2017)

Read more

Editors’ Picks and Read Alikes: March 2017

Editor’s Picks

Jump to March Read-Alikes

This list is hand picked by our Thorndike Press editorial team. With over 30 years of experience, our editors know good reads; that’s why we have more bestsellers in Large Print than any other publisher! We don’t like to brag but they are very good. Here are their selections for March list for March:

Read more

Now in Large Print: Diary of a Wimpy Kid

 

“Greg’s adventures will be bigger than ever in the new format. I’m glad we’re publishing these stories in a way that makes them more accessible for everyone,” said author Jeff Kinney.

The Diary of a Wimpy Kid series is the most popular middle-reader (grades 4-8) series of all time. This award-winning series received rave reviews from Booklist, Horn Book Guide, Publishers Weekly and/or Library Journal. Nearly every book in the series has been #1 on the New York Times bestseller list.

Read more