Editors’ Picks and Read Alikes: March 2017

Editor’s Picks

Jump to March Read-Alikes

This list is hand picked by our Thorndike Press editorial team. With over 30 years of experience, our editors know good reads; that’s why we have more bestsellers in Large Print than any other publisher! We don’t like to brag but they are very good. Here are their selections for March list for March:

THE BLOOD OF EMMETT TILL by Timothy B. Tyson
9781410497802
Part detective story, part political history, this New York Times bestseller draws on a wealth of new evidence, including the only interview ever given by Carolyn Bryant, the white woman in whose name Till was killed. Tyson’s gripping narrative upends what we thought we knew about the most notorious racial crime in American history. Publishers Weekly’s starred review said: “Tyson’s remarkable achievement is that each thread is explored in detail, while he maintains a page-turning readability for what might seem a familiar tale. Cinematically engaging, harrowing, and poignant, Tyson’s monumental work illuminates Emmett Till’s murder and serves as a powerful reminder that certain stories in history merit frequent retelling.” This essential and extremely relevant title is civil rights history that captivates the reader like a mystery novel! (Popular and Narrative Nonfiction — 3/22/2017)

LUCK, LOVE & LEMON PIE by Amy E. Reichert
9781410498359
When Milwaukee-area wife MJ Boudreaux notices her husband Chris is always at the casino, she learns poker in an effort to salvage their marriage from a midlife crisis. As her luck picks up, MJ finds herself in Vegas, where she becomes the focus of a celebrity poker star. The stakes are high; will she choose her family or her new glamorous lifestyle? Kirkus Reviews called this Midwest Connections Pick “an enjoyable and thought-provoking exploration of a modern-day marriage in midlife crisis.” Booklist said: “Reichert’s second novel, after the popular The Coincidence of Coconut Cake (2015), will appeal to readers who enjoy a lighter look at self-discovery, family, and friendship.” (Women’s Fiction — 3/22/2017)

CHILD OF THE RIVER by Irma Joubert
9781410497161
Persomi is young, white, and poor, born the middle child of illiterate sharecroppers on the prosperous Fourie farm in the South African Bushveld. She has never been to the local village and spends her days absorbed in the rhythms of the natural world around her, escaping the brutality and squalor of her family home through newspapers and books. Persomi’s close relationship with her older brother Gerbrand and her fragile friendship with Boelie Fourie are her lifeline and her only connection to the outside world. When Gerbrand leaves the farm to fight on the side of the Anglos in WWII and Boelie joins an underground network of Boer nationalists, Persomi’s isolated world is blown wide open. Publishers Weekly said: “Joubert once again demonstrates a knack for stringing believable, interesting characters through a historical South African landscape. Not just a sweet romantic novel, Joubert’s book is a testament to the value of hard work and perseverance.” (Christian Historical Fiction — 3/22/2017)

THE HEART OF HENRY QUANTUM by Pepper Harding
9781410497840
Henry Quantum has several thoughts going through his head at any given time, so it’s no surprise when he forgets something very important — specifically, a Christmas gift for his wife, which he realizes on the morning of December 23. Henry sets off that day in search of the perfect present for her: a bottle of Chanel No. 5 perfume. But much like Henry’s ever-wandering mind, his quest takes him in different and unexpected directions, including running into the former love of his life, Daisy. His wife, meanwhile, unhappy in her marriage, is hiding a secret of her own. And Daisy, who has made the unsettling choice of leaving her husband to strike out on her own, finds herself questioning whether she and Henry belong together after all. This sweet, funny, and touching debut shows how the seemingly insignificant events of one single day can change our lives forever — perhaps, if we’re lucky, for the better. Booklist’s starred review called it “a highly entertaining read that will remind readers of the power of one day to change a life, while Publishers Weekly called it “a fun, fanciful story that will keep readers guessing until the end.” For readers who liked A Man Called Ove. (Basic 7 — 3/8/2017)

Read-Alikes

Sometimes it can be challenging to pick out the right books for your patrons. We try to make it as easy as possible by presenting titles based on other books and authors that your patrons have read. Here is a full list of March Large Print titles that are based on those books:

If your readers like Hilary Mantel, they might like:

IN THE NAME OF THE FAMILY by Sarah Dunant
9781410495808
The latest from the New York Times bestselling author, “Dunant’s captivating Renaissance Italian saga will thrill her fans and bring more into the fold,” said Booklist. She reveals the betrayals and conspiracies that lead to the fall of the House of Borgia with “skillfully drawn characters and an excellent sense of place [that] will entice readers of historicals,” said Library Journal. (Perspectives — 3/22/2017)

 

 

 

If your readers like Emily Giffin and Kristin Hannah, they might like:

RESULTS MAY VARY by Bethany Chase 9781410498366
After 17 years of marriage, Caroline finds out her husband Adam is having an affair . . . with a man. Compassionate and uplifting, this is a bittersweet celebration of the heart’s ability to forgive and rebuild. USA Today bestselling author Chase gives us “an incredibly charming novel about shifting from being completed by a man to becoming a whole woman,” said Library Journal. For readers who like contemporary women’s fiction stories about self-discovery. (Women’s Fiction — 3/22/2017)

If your readers like Mary Balogh and Lisa Kleypas, they might like:

WILD WICKED SCOT by Julia London
9781410496584
With starred reviews from Booklist, Publishers Weekly and Kirkus Reviews, this absorbing read with expert characters makes this entry from The Highland Grooms series an enjoyable, passionate romance. Margot Armstrong fled her arranged marriage to a Scottish chieftain three years ago to return to her 18th-Century London society home. Her father forces her to return to Scotland to get back into her former husband’s confidences and secretly test his loyalty to the English monarchy. Booklist called it “an absorbing and passionate romance.” For fans of historical romances. (Romance 3 — 3/22/2017)

If your readers like Zadie Smith and Chris Cleave, they might like:

THE BOOK OF HARLAN by Bernice L. McFadden
9781410497925
A vivid, compelling and accessible historical fiction narrative, perfect for book discussion groups, this novel chronicles the journey of two African- American musicians from Georgia to Paris who are captured by the Nazis and imprisoned at the Buchenwald concentration camp. Booklist’s starred review said: “McFadden presents a remarkably crisp portrait of one average man’s extraordinary bravery in the face of pure evil.” Library Journal called it an “impressive achievement [that] offers us a window into the often very difficult lives of African Americans from the Jim Crow era up to the present.” (African-American — 3/22/2017)

If your readers like M. C. Beaton, they might like:

AUNT DIMITY DIGS IN by Nancy Atherton
9781410495051
Lori and her husband, Bill Willis, have welcomed twin boys, adding to the small village of Finch, England. Living in Dimity Westwood’s former cottage, Lori is up to her elbows in new parenting. “In this corpseless tale, the mystery concerns a document stolen from the vicarage . . . Lori, a rare book expert, is aided by Aunt Dimity who communicates with her ghostly handwriting in a special blue journal. . . . Atherton delivers pure cozy entertainment,” said Publishers WeeklyBooklist called it “sweet, heartwarming fare for all British cozy fans.” (Mystery 5 — 3/8/2017)

If your readers like Gone Girl and The Luckiest Girl Alive, they might like:

ONLY DAUGHTER by Anna Snoekstra
9781410497819
In 2003, sixteen-year-old Rebecca Winter disappeared. Eleven years later a young woman, desperate after being arrested, claims to be the decade missing Bec. But Bec’s family and friends are not as they seem, and she soon realizes she is in danger. “Readers will be unable to put this down” touts a starred Booklist review. Library Journal agrees, with its own starred review: “Escalating tension and menace will keep readers glued to the pages, leading to a highly satisfying resolution that is both surprising and believable.” Film rights have already been optioned by Universal Pictures. (Basic 8 — 3/8/2017)

To learn more about Thorndike Press or to place an order for any of these titles from the Editor’s Pick list or the Read-Alike list visit gale.com/thorndike or contact your Thorndike Press representative.

 

Leave a Comment

'