Summer Escapes!

Must-Reads for Vacationers Anytime of Year

These titles were featured in May’s Library Journal as must-reads if you are looking for “summer escapes.” Anyone planning vacation reads or just armchair getaways will want to check out our large print editions:

THE BELOVED HOPE CHEST by Amy Clipston (9781410499714).
The final installment in the Amish Heirloom series, Booklist says bestselling Amish fiction author Clipston “has written another heartwarming romance, with lifelike characters and a delightfully detailed setting.” Library Journal said: “The Fisher sisters delve into the family hope chest and uncover more details about their mother, Mattie, and the shocking secret she’s been keeping for years.” For fans of Cindy Woodsmall and Beverly Lewis. (Christian Romance — 6/7/2017)

THE LOST HISTORY OF STARS by Dave Boling (9781432843359).
This novel, written by journalist Boling, is set in the South African Anglo-Boer War of 1899‒1902, was witnessed by 14-yr-old Lettie, a Dutch Afrikaner imprisoned in a British concentration camp. “This beautifully narrated work will appeal to fans of both historical and general fiction,” said Library Journal. Kirkus Reviews adds that this story “sheds much-needed light on the deaths of thousands of Boer civilians in these camps.” For readers of All the Light We Cannot See, A Constellation of Vital Phenomena, and The Orphan Master’s Son. (Perspectives — 9/20/2017)

Where the Light Falls by Allison Pataki and Owen Pataki (9781432841003). New from the New York Times bestselling author of The Traitor’s Wife, The Accidental Empress, and Sisi, a sweeping novel co-written with her brother. An epic and engrossing novel, moving from the streets and courtrooms of Paris to Napoleon’s epic march across the burning sands of Egypt. With vivid detail and imagery, the Patakis capture the hearts and minds of the citizens of France fighting for truth above all, and for their belief in a cause greater than themselves. For fans of historical fiction. (Core 8 — 7/5/2017)

Glass Houses by Louise Penny (9781432841874). The new Chief Inspector Gamache novel from the #1 New York Times bestselling author. From the moment a mysterious figure’s shadow falls over Three Pines, Gamache suspects the creature has deep roots and a dark purpose, but legally what can he do? When a body is discovered, it falls to Gamache to discover if a debt has been paid or levied. In the early days of the investigation into the murder, and months later, the Chief Superintendent continues to struggle with actions he’s set in motion. Penny shatters the conventions of the crime novel to explore what Gandhi called the court of conscience. A court that supersedes all others. For fans of village mysteries. (Mystery — 9/6/2017)

The Right Side by Spencer Quinn (9781432839642). A deeply damaged female soldier home from the war in Afghanistan becomes obsessed with finding a missing girl, and gains an unlikely ally in a stray dog. This standalone pairs nicely with Quinn’s  #1 New York Times bestselling Chet and Bernie mystery series, according to Library Journal, “…canine-loving readers might be a little disappointed that Goody doesn’t show up sooner. However, the fascinating characters and satisfying plot more than make up for that slight negative.” For fans of page-turning fiction. (Core 5 — 7/5/2017)

Lie to Me by J. T. Ellison (9781432840730). From a New York Times bestselling author comes a page-turner about the disintegration of a marriage as grief, jealousy, betrayal and murder destroy the façade of the perfect literary couple. Library Journal said: “Ellison knows how to deliver gripping psychological suspense, and this tale of a marriage disintegrating appears to echo Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl. Sutton Montclair vanishes, and her husband, Ethan, deals with the aftermath. Is he a killer, or is something else going on entirely? Appearances can be deceiving, but Ellison’s writing is not.” For fans of Mary Kubica and Ruth Ware. (Basic — 9/6/2017)

Matchup: The Battle of the Sexes Just Got Thrilling edited by Lee Child (9781432838874). In this follow-up to the New York Times bestseller FaceOff, twenty-two of the world’s most popular thriller writers come together for an unforgettable anthology. MatchUp takes never-before-seen bestseller pairings and adds a delicious new twist: gender. A starred Publishers Weekly review calls it “stellar . . . a great place to start if you’ve not yet sampled some of these authors.” Library Journal called it “a fun format . . . matching up favorite thriller characters.” For readers of Sandra Brown, C. J. Box, Diana Gabaldon, Lisa Jackson, and Lisa Scottoline. (Basic — 6/7/2017)

Mad by Chloé Esposito (9781432840969). A much buzzed-about book at last year’s London Book Fair, with film rights already acquired by Universal, MAD contains a wholly original heroine. Alvie is a Patricia Highsmith-Amy Schumer mash-up, a clumsy anti-heroine who you can’t help but root for. “When plans for identical twins Beth and Alvie to swap places for one night go fatally awry, Alvie seizes the chance to assume her perfect sister’s life. Using Sicily as a backdrop with its gorgeous architecture, villas, and sexy men, Esposito pens an unforgettable summer debut headed by a no-holds-barred protagonist,” says a Library Journal review.  There will be more to come in this deliciously evil Mad, Bad, and Dangerous to Know Trilogy. (Basic 6 — 7/5/2017)

Fitness Junkie by Lucy Sykes and Jo Piazza (9781432841553). These two New York Times bestselling authors have paired up for an outrageously funny novel about one woman’s attempt — through clay diets, naked yoga, green juice, and cultish workout classes — to win back her career, save her best friend, and lose thirty pounds. Kirkus Reviews said: “You’ll breeze through this one like you would a Saturday spin class with the most fabulous playlist and the promise of brunch cocktails after.” For fans of Bridget Jones. (Wheeler Hardcover — 8/2/2017)

Young Jane Young by Zevin, Gabrielle (9781432843588). From the New York Times bestselling author of The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry comes another sure hit. Aviva Grossman, an ambitious Congressional intern, makes the life-changing mistake of having an affair with her very married boss. Aviva takes the fall, becoming a latenight talk show punchline. She changes her name and moves to a remote town in Maine. Later, at the urging of others, she decides to run for public office. And it’s only a matter of time until Aviva’s daughter, Ruby, finds out who her mother was, and is. Told in varying voices, this is a sympathetic and smart take on double standards. (Core — 9/6/2017)

To learn more about Thorndike Press visit our website or contact your Thorndike Press Consultant.

 

Leave a Comment