2017 RUSA Reading List and March Bestsellers

2017 RUSA Reading List

Jump to the March Bestsellers 

The Reading List Council has announced the 2017 selections for the Reading List, an annual best-of list for adult readers. Announced during the American Library Association’s Midwinter Meeting, the list seeks to highlight outstanding genre fiction. We are excited to have many of the titles that were announced and we know your readers will enjoy all of these great reads. Titles we’ve published include:

Adrenaline Winner and Short List Nominee 
**Winner — ORPHAN X by Gregg Hurwitz
9781410486370
The Nowhere Man is a legendary figure spoken about only in whispers. It’s said that when he’s reached by the truly desperate and deserving, the Nowhere Man can and will do anything to protect and save them. Booklist’s starred review called it “a high-tech, nonstop thriller . . . A standout,” while Publishers Weekly’s starred review called it “an excellent series opener.” This Indie Next Pick if perfect for fans of Jack Reacher, Mitch Rapp, and Jason Bourne. (Basic 6 — 2/3/2016)

Read more…

LibraryReads and Indie Next Picks: March 2017

LibraryReads Picks

Jump to Indie Next Picks 

LibraryReads publishes a list of the top books released every month that librarians across the country love. Thorndike Press honored to have many of these titles available in Large Print. Below is the full list of Large Print LibraryReads picks just for you and your patrons!

THE WANDERERS by Meg Howrey
9781432838263
Station Eleven meets The Martian in this brilliantly inventive literary novel about three astronauts auditioning for the first-ever mission to Mars, an experience that will push the boundary between real and unreal, test their relationships, and leave each of them — and their families — changed forever. This novel is fast-paced and sharp, with some unforgettable moments of tenderness. In their starred review, Kirkus called it “engrossing . . . Although the contours of a space drama may seem familiar to a 21stcentury readership, Howrey, through the poetry of her writing and the richness of her characters, makes it all seem new. A lyrical and subtle space opera.” For fans of Emily St. John Mandel and Andy Weir. (Core 6 — 5/3/2017)

Read more…

Editors’ Picks and Read Alikes: March 2017

Editor’s Picks

Jump to March Read-Alikes

This list is hand picked by our Thorndike Press editorial team. With over 30 years of experience, our editors know good reads; that’s why we have more bestsellers in Large Print than any other publisher! We don’t like to brag but they are very good. Here are their selections for March list for March:

Read more…

Aging in the 21st Century

Did you know? Over 10,000 baby boomers are turning 65 every day, and the fastest growing demographic in the U.S. is women over the age of 85. A radical shift—driven by the numerous (and vocal) “baby boom” generation—pushes the portion of U.S. citizens 65 and older to be 21% by 2050. As older citizens’ self-perceptions change, … Read more…

Not Your Mother’s Large Print

By Mary Kelly

Back in olden times, large print was hardly full of current best sellers.  When I was growing up, large print materials were relegated to one of the dustier corners of the library complete and with the occasional old person looking for something. It was a small collection and to be honest, kind of crappy looking. There was no real cover art and the selection seemed to be only romance. This is what I remember as a youngster. Well now I am one of the “old people” and we aren’t going to do that anymore.  I can only imagine that many people my age remember this as well.  

Read more…

Large Print for Reluctant Readers

Thorndike Press, a world leader in Large Print Publishing, has been helping elderly readers reduce eye strain since 1980. But did you know that Large Print benefits younger readers too? Millions of middle and high school students get discouraged every day because they are not reading at their appropriate grade level, see how Large Print can help!

Read more…

Broaden Your Appeal: Titles for Masculine Tastes

Posted June 27, 2016

When evaluating reach, most public libraries find they have no problem drawing women.  But men?  That can be more challenging.  According to a January 2011 Harris Interactive Poll: Sixty-five percent of those polled said they had visited the library in the past year; 72% of women had visited, while just over half (58%) of men had.

As libraries try to find new ways to attract men to the library, many librarians have asked for help identifying titles that appeal to masculine tastes – beyond just westerns and nonfiction titles.

Read more…

Booklist Webinar: Best Practices for Large Print

Join Booklist and Thorndike Press for this free, hour-long webinar on building successful large-print collections. Speakers will include Nancy Pearl, Nora Rawlinson (EarlyWord), Tamara Kraus (Hickory County Public Library, NC), and Lisa Joyce (Portland Library, ME). Don’t miss this valuable program, featuring advice on all things large print: collection-development trends, reading group tips, and best … Read more…

Thorndike Press Staff Recommendation

Posted on October 26, 2015

Thorndike Press wouldn’t be the leading Large Print publisher if it weren’t for our staff. We are passionate about what we do — which is providing the best overall experience we can for our customers and readers. Additionally, at Thorndike Press we put the “V” in voracious when it comes to reading and loving books!

AuthorspicSecret Sisters by Jayne Ann Krentz is the story of two childhood friends, Madeline and Daphne, who experienced a terrifying attack and have done their best to move on with their lives. Madeline runs a chain of luxury hotels and Daphne is a designer. But the secret that they share reunites them as adults and they journey back to a small island off the coast of Seattle, the site of their childhood trauma. Using Nancy Pearl’s Readers Advisory methodology, let me tell you about the doorways that I found most appealing. I was drawn to the character of Madeline, a successful career woman who struggles with intimacy and lost track of her childhood friend.

Read more…