Kirkus Best Fiction of 2017 Available in Large Print

In their November issue, Kirkus shared its list of best fiction books for 2017. Categories included Best Mysteries and Thrillers, Best Science Fiction and Fantasy, Best Literary Fiction, and many more. Thorndike Press, a leading publisher of large print books, is proud to offer the following winning titles:

SALT HOUSES | Hala Alyan | 9781432843502
“a deeply moving look inside the Palestinian diaspora” – Kirkus
For fans of Khaled Hosseini.

THE FLOATING WORLD | C. Morgan Babst | 9781432848927
“deeply felt and beautifully written; a major addition to the literature of [Hurricane] Katrina.” -Kirkus
For readers who like stories about family.

MURDER IN SAINT-GERMAIN | Cara Black | 9781432841652
“Black’s detective is hitting her post-pregnancy stride, bringing up bébé while battling the bad guys with the best of them.” -Kirkus
For fans of Donna Leon and Rhys Bowen.

WHAT WE LOSE | Zinzi Clemmons | 9781432846411
“a compelling exploration of race, migration, and womanhood in contemporary America.” -Kirkus
For fans of Jesmyn Ward, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, and Brit Bennett.

AN EXTRAORDINARY UNION | Alyssa Cole | 9781410497901
“a masterful tale that bodes well for future work from Cole.” -Kirkus
For fans of Beverly Jenkins and Jennifer Chiaverini.

THE ARRANGEMENT | Sara Dunn | 9781432843168
“Dunn’s dryly humorous story about a marriage that goes dangerously off-road never loses its groove.” -Kirkus
For fans of Meg Wolitzer.

MANHATTAN BEACH | Jennifer Egan | 9781432843410
“Realistically detailed, poetically charged, and utterly satisfying; apparently, there’s nothing Egan can’t do.” -Kirkus
For fans of historical sagas.

LITTLE SISTER | Barbara Gowdy | 9781432840570
“This imaginative, alluring novel from an acclaimed Canadian author unspools steadily and grippingly and may earn Gowdy many new fans stateside.” -Kirkus
For fans of Ann Hood.

EXIT WEST | Mohsin Hamid | 9781410499486
“One of the most bittersweet love stories in modern memory and a book to savor even while despairing of its truths.” -Kirkus
For readers who like stories of love, loyalty, and courage.

RABBIT CAKE | Annie Hartnett | 9781432838416
“How a whip-smart young girl handles the loss of her mother and the reorientation of her family; charming and beautifully written.” -Kirkus
For fans of Maria Semple and Beth Hoffman.

STANDARD DEVIATION | Katherine Heiny | 9781432844134
“an amusingly engaging take on long-term marriage with a lovably loopy character at its center.” -Kirkus
For fans of Nora Ephron, Nick Hornsby, and Maria Semple.

DEFECTORS | Joseph Kanon | 9781432838836
“A blend of Spy vs. Spy and sibling vs. sibling, Kanon reaffirms his status as one of the very best writers in the genre.” -Kirkus
For fans of John le Carré, and Alan Furst.

BLUEBIRD, BLUEBIRD | Attica Locke | 9781432843182
“Locke, having stockpiles an acclaimed array of crime novels, deserves a career breakthrough for this deftly plotted whodunit whose writing pulses throughout with a raw, blues-inflected lyricism.” -Kirkus
For readers who like engrossing crime novels.

THE NINTH HOUR | Alice McDermott | 9781432841508
“Everything that her readers, the National Book Award committee, and the Pulitzer Prize judges love about McDermott’s stories of Irish-Catholic American life is back in her eighth novel.” -Kirkus
For readers of historical fiction.

THE BURNING GIRL | Claire Messud | 9781432842376
“emotionally intense and quietly haunting.” -Kirkus
For readers who like coming-of-age stories.

THE REFUGEES | Viet Thanh Nguyen | 9781432839024
“Nguyen is the foremost literary interpreter of the Vietnamese experience in America, to be sure. But his stories, excellent from start to finish, transcend ethnic boundaries to speak to human universals.” -Kirkus
For fans of Ha Jin and short story collections.

THE LONELY HEARTS HOTEL | Heather O’Neill | 9781432838904
“big and lush and extremely satisfying; a rare treat.” -Kirkus
For fans of The Night Circus and Water for Elephants.

SAY NOTHING | Brad Parks | 9781410499134
“The nerve-shredding never lets up for a minute as Parks picks you up by the scruff of the neck, shakes you vigorously, and repeats over and over again till a climax so harrowing that you’ll be shaking with gratitude that it’s finally over.” -Kirkus
For fans of Harlan Coben and Lisa Gardner.

LINCOLN IN THE BARDO | George Saunders | 978141049747
“With this book, Saunders asserts a complex and disturbing vision in which society and cosmos blur.” -Kirkus
For fans of historical fiction.

EXPOSED | Lisa Scottoline | 9781432840891|
“Despite some overheated damsel-in-distress complications toward the end, a stellar demonstration of the proposition that although it can’t bring back the dead, “justice was still the best consolation prize going.” The final curtain will find you cheering, and Scottoline will have earned every hurrah.” -Kirkus
For fans of legal thrillers.

GOLDEN HILL: A Novel of Old New York | Francis Spufford | 9781432847050
“A first rate entertainment with a rich historical feel and some delightful twists.” -Kirkus
For fans of historical adventures.

SING, UNBURIED, SING | Jesmyn Ward | 9781432846527)
“As with the best and most meaningful American fiction these days, old truths are recast here in new realities rife with both peril and promise.” -Kirkus
For fans of literary fiction.

YOUNG JANE YOUNG | Gabrielle Zevin | 9781432843588
“This book will not only thoroughly entertain everyone who reads it; it is the most immaculate takedown of slut-shaming in literature or anywhere else. Cheers, and gratitude, to the author.” -Kirkus

Thorndike Press titles are available through all major wholesalers and distributors. To learn more, please visit gale.com/thorndike.

 

Leave a Comment