Our Most Anticipated Releases in Youth Large Print

6 min read

| By Gale Staff |

Summer is the perfect time to escape into a good book—especially for young readers. Scroll through our list of young adult large print releases to find new titles that will add depth and adventure to your collection. Large print books not only keep kids engaged, but they give their tech-weary eyes a much-needed break after a busy school year.

Read below for our most anticipated list of award-winning titles, descriptions, and reviews.

Apple: Skin to the Core by Eric Gansworth
9781432889319

2021 Michael L. Printz Honor, 2020 National Book Award Longlist, CSMCL Best Multicultural Children’s Books of 2020, NPR’s Best Book of 2020, Four Starred Reviews

A young adult memoir in verse, Eric Gansworth tells the story of his life, of an Onondaga family living among Tuscaroras, and of Native people in America, including the damaging legacy of government boarding schools. In doing so, he grapples with the slur common in Native communities for someone “red on the outside, white on the inside,” and reclaims it.

Furia by Yamile Saied Méndez
9781432888909

2021 Pura Belpré Young Adult Author Medal, Reese Witherspoon Hello Sunshine YA Pick

This #ownvoices contemporary young adult novel set in Argentina is about a rising soccer star who must put everything on the line—even her blooming love story—to follow her dreams.

At home, she lives within her mother’s narrow expectations, in her rising-soccer-star brother’s shadow, and under the abusive rule of her short-tempered father.

On the field, she is La Furia, a powerhouse of skill. When her team qualifies for the South American tournament, Camila gets the chance to see just how far those talents can take her. In her wildest dreams, she’d get an athletic scholarship to a North American university.

But the path ahead isn’t easy. Camila’s parents don’t know about her passion. They wouldn’t allow a girl to play fútbol—and she needs their permission to go any further. And the boy she once loved is back in town. Since he left, Diego has become an international star, playing in Italy for the renowned team Juventus. Camila doesn’t have time to be distracted by her feelings for him. Things aren’t the same as when he left: she has her own ambitions now, and La Furia cannot be denied. As her life becomes more complicated, Camila is forced to face her secrets and make her way in a world with no place for the dreams and of a girl like her. 

Legendborn by Tracy Deonn
9781432889548

2021 Coretta Scott King – John Steptoe Winner for New Talent Author Award

Filled with mystery and an intriguingly rich magic system, Tracy Deonn’s young adult contemporary fantasy, Legendborn, offers the dark allure of City of Bones, with a modern-day twist on a classic legend and a lot of Southern Black Girl Magic.

After her mother dies in an accident, 16-year-old Bree Matthews wants nothing to do with her family memories or childhood home. A residential program for bright high schoolers at UNC–Chapel Hill seems like the perfect escape—until Bree witnesses a magical attack her first night on campus. A flying demon feeding on human energies. A secret society of so-called “Legendborn” students that hunt the creatures down.

And a mysterious teenage mage who calls himself a “Merlin” and attempts—and fails—to wipe Bree’s memory of everything she saw.

The mage’s failure unlocks Bree’s own unique magic and a buried memory with a hidden connection: the night her mother died, another Merlin was at the hospital. Now that Bree knows there’s more to her mother’s death than what’s on the police report, she’ll do whatever it takes to find out the truth, even if that means infiltrating the Legendborn as one of their initiates.

Super Fake Love Song by David Yoon
9781432889616

An NPR Book Concierge Pick of the Year, a School Library Journal Best Book of the Year, a YALSA Best Fiction Pick For Young Adults

From the New York Times bestselling author of Frankly in Love comes a moving young adult novel about friendship, identity, and acceptance. Perfect for fans of John Green and To All the Boys I’ve Love Before.

When Sunny meets Cirrus, he can’t believe how cool and confident she is. So when Cirrus mistakenly thinks Sunny plays guitar, he accidentally winds up telling her he’s the front man of a rock band.

Before he knows it, Sunny is knee-deep in the lie: He gets his best friends to form a fake band with him and starts dressing like a rock star. But no way can he trick this amazing girl into thinking he’s cool, right?

Just when Sunny is about to come clean, Cirrus asks to see them play sometime. Gulp.

Now there’s only one thing to do: fake it till you make it.

A Wish in the Dark by Christina Soontornvat
9781432888268

2021 Newbery Honor Book, 2021 Jane Addams Children’s Book Award

A boy on the run. A girl determined to find him. A compelling fantasy looks at issues of privilege, protest, and justice.

All light in Chattana is created by one man, the governor, who appeared after the Great Fire to bring peace and order to the city. For Pong, who was born in Namwon Prison, the magical lights represent freedom, and he dreams of the day he’ll be able to walk among them. But when Pong escapes from prison, he realizes that the world outside is no fairer than the one behind bars. The wealthy dine and dance under bright orb light, while the poor toil away in darkness. Worst of all, Pong’s prison tattoo marks him as a fugitive who can never be truly free.

Nok, the prison warden’s perfect daughter, is bent on tracking Pong down and restoring her family’s good name. But as Nok hunts Pong through the alleys and canals of Chattana, she uncovers secrets that make her question the truths she always held dear. Set in a Thai-inspired fantasy world, Christina Soontornvat’s twist on Victor Hugo’s Les Misérables is a dazzling, fast-paced adventure that explores the difference between law and justice—and asks whether one child can shine a light in the dark.

Find these titles (and more!) through Thorndike Press, Amazon, and all major wholesalers.

Leave a Comment