Striving Readers Can Succeed with Large Print

| By Gale Staff |

When it comes to print, size really does matter.  A larger font boosts decoding, fluency, and comprehension for young readers. Once these skills are strengthened, students once frustrated by reading, learning the English language, or struggling with developmental delays, such as ADD/ADHD or dyslexia, gain confidence to become enthusiastic, lifelong readers.

Making Reading More Accessible
Thorndike Press, a world leader in large print publishing, has supported older adults and the visually impaired since 1980, but the 16-point helps middle readers and young adults too, as it is proven to:

Read more

Gwinnett County Public Library Lands Finalist Position in Spark Prize

Nestled just North of Atlanta, the Gwinnett County Public Library has always been dedicated to enriching the lives of those in their community from children to adults and beyond. For reluctant or struggling readers, GCPL is a strong advocate of large print books, stating “the larger font and increased white space can help to improve … Read more

Highlights of BookExpo

BookExpo Buzz Titles

We attended BookExpo last month at the Javits Center in New York. The largest annual trade book fair in the United States, BookExpo brings together publishers, booksellers, authors, and librarians. It’s an exciting place to be, with thousands of other book people and huge banners hanging from the rafters displaying upcoming buzz books. It was a great chance to meet publishers and some of our authors to learn about titles to watch for in the coming year ―  and hear from librarians about what their patrons of all ages are looking for, and how we can serve them better. Panels of authors and industry insiders discussed trends, upcoming titles and programming, and tried to predict the next big genre. Here is a list of some Book Expo buzz titles that we’re publishing in large print.

Read more

Summer Escapes!

Must-Reads for Vacationers Anytime of Year

These titles were featured in May’s Library Journal as must-reads if you are looking for “summer escapes.” Anyone planning vacation reads or just armchair getaways will want to check out our large print editions:

Read more

April 2017 Read-alikes and Bestsellers

| By Elyse Monahan | April Read-alikes Your patrons have their favorite authors and genres that they know and love. Below is a list of titles debuting in April inspired by those favorites! Jump to the April Bestsellers  If your readers like David Liss and Robert Harris, they might like: The Ashes of London by … Read more

Goodreads Big Books of Spring 2017

Goodreads is the world’s largest site for readers and book recommendations. Their mission is to help people find and share books they love. They have 55 million members and there are over 50 million readers on their website. Their Spring list contains the top 25 books that readers are adding to their “Want to Read” shelves. We’ll be publishing the following of these buzz books in large print.

Read more

April 2017 Picks

| By Elyse Monahan |

April Editors’ Picks 

Jump to the Library Reads List 

Jump to the Indie Next List 

Hand-picked titles from our expert editorial team are here! At Thorndike Press, our editors have a knack for picking the next great reads. They have been doing so for over thirty years! Here is a list of April titles they know your patrons will enjoy.

Read more

2017 RUSA Reading List and March Bestsellers

2017 RUSA Reading List

Jump to the March Bestsellers 

The Reading List Council has announced the 2017 selections for the Reading List, an annual best-of list for adult readers. Announced during the American Library Association’s Midwinter Meeting, the list seeks to highlight outstanding genre fiction. We are excited to have many of the titles that were announced and we know your readers will enjoy all of these great reads. Titles we’ve published include:

Adrenaline Winner and Short List Nominee 
**Winner — ORPHAN X by Gregg Hurwitz
9781410486370
The Nowhere Man is a legendary figure spoken about only in whispers. It’s said that when he’s reached by the truly desperate and deserving, the Nowhere Man can and will do anything to protect and save them. Booklist’s starred review called it “a high-tech, nonstop thriller . . . A standout,” while Publishers Weekly’s starred review called it “an excellent series opener.” This Indie Next Pick if perfect for fans of Jack Reacher, Mitch Rapp, and Jason Bourne. (Basic 6 — 2/3/2016)

Read more

LibraryReads and Indie Next Picks: March 2017

LibraryReads Picks

Jump to Indie Next Picks 

LibraryReads publishes a list of the top books released every month that librarians across the country love. Thorndike Press honored to have many of these titles available in Large Print. Below is the full list of Large Print LibraryReads picks just for you and your patrons!

THE WANDERERS by Meg Howrey
9781432838263
Station Eleven meets The Martian in this brilliantly inventive literary novel about three astronauts auditioning for the first-ever mission to Mars, an experience that will push the boundary between real and unreal, test their relationships, and leave each of them — and their families — changed forever. This novel is fast-paced and sharp, with some unforgettable moments of tenderness. In their starred review, Kirkus called it “engrossing . . . Although the contours of a space drama may seem familiar to a 21stcentury readership, Howrey, through the poetry of her writing and the richness of her characters, makes it all seem new. A lyrical and subtle space opera.” For fans of Emily St. John Mandel and Andy Weir. (Core 6 — 5/3/2017)

Read more

Editors’ Picks and Read Alikes: March 2017

Editor’s Picks

Jump to March Read-Alikes

This list is hand picked by our Thorndike Press editorial team. With over 30 years of experience, our editors know good reads; that’s why we have more bestsellers in Large Print than any other publisher! We don’t like to brag but they are very good. Here are their selections for March list for March:

Read more