The Hendry County Library Graduates First Class

Originally posted in The Clewiston News Thursday, Feb. 3, was a history making day for Hendry County, and the Mayor of Clewiston, Mayor Mali Gardner, was a witness. On this day, the county celebrated its first ever graduates from the Library’s Career Online High School. This is a high school program provided through select libraries … Read more

Human Diseases and Conditions, an “Easy Read”

Searching for a resource to support researchers seeking authoritative health information? The search stops here with Human Diseases and Conditions! Offering in-depth coverage of all areas of health and disease, Human Diseases and Conditions offers current and accurate information on approximately 450 diseases and conditions. The topics covered include infectious diseases, many cancers, chronic and acute physical and psychological conditions, newly emerging and reemerging diseases, public health issues, and issues of interest to the young adult audience (eating disorders, sports injuries, growth, and puberty). Behavioral health is covered as thoroughly as physical health.

Want more? Read a review from Barbara Bibel, a Reference Librarian at Oakland Public Library:

Read more

American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1990 is “Rich” and “Absorbing”

In recent years, decades-long movements in civil liberties have been at the forefront of the news. The struggle for civil rights and liberties defines our past and affects our present. Students and researchers can immerse themselves in civil rights history like never before with our new archive American Civil Liberties Union Papers, 1912-1990, part of the Making of Modern Law collection. Drawing from the records of the American Civil Liberties Union (ACLU), it focuses on civil rights, race, gender, and issues relating to the U.S. Supreme Court—topics intensely relevant to today’s curriculum and debates at both national and local levels.

See what Henrietta Verma, Senior Editorial Communications Specialist at Library Journal, thinks of this groundbreaking archive:

Read more

Earn an Accredited High School Diploma at Brookfield Public Library

Originally Posted on the Chicago Tribune, February 8, 2017 Brookfield Public Library is offering qualified community members the opportunity to earn a high school diploma and career certificate for free. Through a partnership with its regional library system RAILS, Brookfield Public Library is joining 11 other Chicago-area libraries in offering scholarships to Career Online High … Read more

Library Media Specialist Points Fellow Librarians to Opposing Viewpoints In Context

Originally posted on School Library Journal, February 15, 2017 Fake news is everywhere, and many Americans in this digital age struggle to sort fact from fiction. As the concern for fake news and what to to with it grows, students and researchers are turning to the library for reliable, authoritative tools to aid proper research. … Read more

Orange County Library holds first graduation ceremony for Career Online High School

Originally posted on the Orlando Sentinel, February 27, 2017 Matthew Guevara had little more than the clothes on his back when he found himself homeless in Washington, D.C. and dropping out of school before his senior year. A decade later, the 28-year-old was the proud recipient of high school diploma, part of the first graduating … Read more

New Professional Development Collections from Solution Tree

Gale recently partnered with Solution Tree, a premier provider of professional development resources, that strives to increase student achievement and ensure that every child in every school gets the world-class education he or she deserves. Thanks to this partnership, instructors and administrators can better enhance their professional development eBook collection to further meet strategic goals. … Read more

Meet the First Local Residents to Earn High School Diplomas Through San Francisco Public Library

Kevin Surles, Vinh Tran and Hassan Basbassi are the first San Francisco residents to earn high school diplomas through the Career Online High School program at the San Francisco Public Library.  The library partnered with Gale, a leading provider of library resources and a Cengage company, in 2015 to offer the innovative program in an … Read more

Archives of Sexuality & Gender: “An Excellent Addition”

Students, educators, and researchers can now engage with a vast resource that connects them to this history, and enables them to delve deeper and make new connections with the largest program of digital primary source materials available in support of these and many other related areas of research. With approximately 1.5 million pages of primary sources content on social, political, health, and legal issues, Archives of Sexuality & Gender is your one-stop source for all topics impacting LGBTQ communities around the world. Covering subjects such as the gay rights movement, activism, the HIV/Aids crisis, and more, the Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940, Part I is an “excellent addition for academic and public libraries.”

See what Christina Hennessey, a Cataloging Librarian at Loyola Marymount University, thinks of this milestone digital program:

Read more

2017 RUSA Reading List and March Bestsellers

2017 RUSA Reading List

Jump to the March Bestsellers 

The Reading List Council has announced the 2017 selections for the Reading List, an annual best-of list for adult readers. Announced during the American Library Association’s Midwinter Meeting, the list seeks to highlight outstanding genre fiction. We are excited to have many of the titles that were announced and we know your readers will enjoy all of these great reads. Titles we’ve published include:

Adrenaline Winner and Short List Nominee 
**Winner — ORPHAN X by Gregg Hurwitz
9781410486370
The Nowhere Man is a legendary figure spoken about only in whispers. It’s said that when he’s reached by the truly desperate and deserving, the Nowhere Man can and will do anything to protect and save them. Booklist’s starred review called it “a high-tech, nonstop thriller . . . A standout,” while Publishers Weekly’s starred review called it “an excellent series opener.” This Indie Next Pick if perfect for fans of Jack Reacher, Mitch Rapp, and Jason Bourne. (Basic 6 — 2/3/2016)

Read more